The homemade cheesymite scroll and its endless variations

1 May

Cheesymite scrollsWe booked our flights home a couple of weeks ago and now we have a definite end date I am thinking of Brisbane more and more. The anticipation of getting back to our old house and loved ones, and excitement at introducing Ned to the local parkland and playground has made me nostalgic for my own childhood spent in Brisbane. Throwing a tennis ball with Dad in the backyard, trips to the beach, and burnt tops-of-the-feet and backs-of-the-knees. These are all things that are ahead of Ned and even if he was older now, not things he’d be able to do in Vancouver: here we have no backyard nor hot and sunny beaches.

Getting caught up in all this thinking of Oz, I had a hankering for a cheesymite scroll. Possibly only because they don’t exist here, but still. And I knew Ned would love it – he is a vegemite kid, and obviously his mother’s son: a dedicated lover of cheese.

So I thought I’d have a go at making them. That was a couple of weeks ago, and I have just finished batch number 3, with each batch being better than the last. First I tried a simple Women’s Weekly recipe using self-raising flour. They were pretty good out of the oven, but the next day they were dense and hard. Not quite what I remembered. After a little food blog searching I found smitten kitchen’s recipe for chocolate swirl buns, using plain flour and yeast. So I based batch number 2 using this recipe, but crazily decided to start making them a few hours before having 4 friends over for dinner. I’m not sure what I was thinking, but after letting the dough rise for 3 hours, half forgotten under its tea towel, and with my friends knocking on the door, I decided to put it in the fridge and see how it went in the morning. It was certainly an improvement on the first batch, and I made a sneaky little edge of chocolate to try out her variation (which was great but if I did it again I would probably use less sugar in the chocolate mix).vegemite dough

The most recent batch I decided to make in Ned’s naptime, and actually follow the recipe (kind of). The smitten kitchen recipe required a stand mixer with a paddle attachment and a dough hook, but having nothing of the sort here I just did the kneading and mixing by hand. A little more laborious, but plenty of love went into that kneading, and with the rhythm of the push and pull I had pretty much written this post in my head by the time I was finished!two tone dough

The end result was pillowy and light, salty from the vegemite, with crisp cheesy swirls.  Ned devoured them, and I have spent all afternoon trying not to eat them myself. That said, if you’re after a quick cheesymite hit, this recipe may not be for you – it required 60 mins active time all up, 2 ½ hours total rest time (the dough’s first hour of resting was obviously not spent in a warm enough place) and 13 mins cooking. Yikes.cheesymite scrolls

The mind runs wild at what could be done with this recipe. I also did a little edge-dwelling experiment with sour cherry jam and sliced almonds just because they were hanging around (which tasted a bit like a jam donut – I think I’ll be doing that one again). But what about banana and caramel – could it be done?! Nutella and caramel?! Nutella, caramel and banana?! See what I mean?

sour cherry and almond scrolls

choc scrollsAdapted from Australian Women’s Weekly and smitten kitchen (her choc filling recipe and rather more exacting instructions are here).

Ingredients

For the dough:

½ cup milk

¼ cup and a pinch of granulated sugar, separated

1 sachet (8 grams) active dry yeast

1 large egg at room temperature

2 cups plain flour

½ tsp salt

45g butter, at room temperature

For the cheesymite filling:

3 tbsp vegemite

1 cup grated cheddar cheese, fairly tightly packed

For the sour cherry almond filling: (I did just a slip on the side, but have extrapolated the amounts out so that the amount will cover the entire dough)

4 heaped tbsp sour cherry jam

½ cup sliced almonds

Method:

Warm the milk and a pinch of sugar to about 45°C (warm to the touch).

Sprinkle yeast over milk and let stand for about 5 minutes.

Whisk together the egg and ¼ cup sugar, then slowly whisk in yeast mixture.

If you have a stand mixer with a paddle attachment use it now on low to combine flour and salt in a large bowl, then add egg mixture and mix until combined. If not, mix with your hands until combined. It’s gloopy, it’s sticky, but it works fine!

Add butter and mix again until incorporated.

If using the stand mixer, change to the dough hook and knead dough for 10 mins. If there is no stand mixer do it by hand, and enjoy the rhythm and the time to think about anything or nothing.

Grease a large bowl with butter or cooking spray and place dough in it. Cover with a clean tea towel and place in a warm spot to rise for an hour, or until doubled in size.

Once the dough has doubled, turn it out onto a floured bench top and gently deflate it. Allow it to rest for another 5 minutes, and then roll out into a large rectangle. Mine was about 30cm wide and about 50cm long, though no-one could have called it rectangular.

If using the vegemite, dot it over the dough and gently spread it out evenly with a bread knife. Scatter grated cheese over dough to give an even coverage.

If making a jam filling, it is easier to spread, and can be done with the back of a spoon. Scatter the almonds over the jam.

Now roll the dough: Because I wanted bite sized scrolls I rolled mine from long end to long end – ie I made a long log with a smaller scroll. But it could otherwise be rolled end to end to give a shorter log with a larger scroll.

Line a baking tray with baking paper and preheat the oven to 180°C.

Slice log into 2cm segments and place cut side down on the baking paper.

Allow to rest for 30 more mins in a warm spot.

Bake for 13 mins for a small scroll, (a larger scroll will need a touch longer) until pillowy and lightly browned.

8 Responses to “The homemade cheesymite scroll and its endless variations”

  1. Helen Devenish May 1, 2013 at 6:24 am #

    Love it Marcie – and your mum and Dad will be counting down the seconds until you get home lol. Glad Ned loves the vegemite and cheese – you are a very talented little cook and love your blogs xxx

    • marcieblogs May 1, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      Oh thanks Hele! And thanks for sharing the link.

  2. katie May 1, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    Hi my gorgerous marcie! For a quick kids cheeseymite spread a sheet of puff pastry with vegemite and sprinkle cheese over it. Roll it up and cut. Yours look awesome but my kids will not wait that long! Might try your way for adults one day… x good luck with the packing x

    • marcieblogs May 1, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      Hi Katie! Will definitely try the puff pastry version – I have some sitting in the freeze waiting for a good use.

  3. Miranda O'Hara May 1, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    Oh my I can’t wait to bake these! My Anzac biscuit recipe is the same as yours…delicious! I’m loving the photography too – you are a STAR. I hope you continue your blog when you return home x Miranda

    • marcieblogs May 1, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks Miranda! I am enjoying this little project, so think I will keep it up. Looking forward to morning teas with the babies in Bris!

  4. travelistakingover June 7, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    I finally found some vegemite at $9 a pop for a teeny jar! Cant wait to try these and bring some into work! All of my canadian friends say they can’t stand it but im going to prove them wrong 🙂

    • marcieblogs June 14, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Eeek! So expensive! Vegemite seriously is the best though (and an excellent hangover cure with all those B vitamins)… hope you enjoy your scrolls!

Leave a Reply

