Banana bread

15 Mar

banana breadWhy do I always wait until I have 2 unwanted, rotting bananas on my bench to make banana cake? I should plan ahead and buy extras, to have this event occur more regularly.  Whether bread, muffins or cake is the final product, anything banana-y is somehow always delicious. Is it the anticipation of the cake, watching those bananas brown, subconsciously offering Ned the avocado instead of the banana, in the knowledge that there will be a baked treat as my reward? Or is it that bananas don’t overwhelm the cake, they just add a moistness and sweetness that is complimented by so many other flavours?

This banana bread is from a recipe book called Food With A View printed by St Margaret’s Anglican Girls School in Brisbane as a fundraiser. Parents and teachers submitted recipes, and everything I have made from this book is a hit. I guess it is because the favourite family recipes are contributed, and they have been tested over many years in each household’s kitchen.

This is more like a cake than bread to me – it is light and fluffy with a soft, moist crumb and the coconut adds a little more texture. While I threw in some choc drops (because they were in the cupboard), I think some chopped walnuts would be great in there instead, or just leave it be banana-and-coconuty and tropical on its own. Also, I baked it in a 20cm square tin, because that is about the only baking tin I have here, but it would probably be great with a bit more height baked in a loaf tin with the baking time adjusted accordingly.

Ingredients

2 large ripe bananas

2 eggs, lightly beaten

½ cup coconut

125g butter

½ cup brown sugar

¼ cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp bi-carbonate soda

1 cup self raising flour

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Grease and line a 20cm square or loaf tin.

Mash bananas in a bowl.

Add eggs and coconut to the banana and stir to combine.

Melt butter and sugar in a small saucepan, stirring occasionally.

Add milk and vanilla to the butter mixture.

Sift the bicarbonate soda with the flour.

Alternately add milk mixture and flour mixture to the bananas, stirring to combine.

Pour into prepared tin and bake for 30 mins, until the top is golden and a skewer comes out clean.

7 Responses to “Banana bread”

  1. Mum March 15, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    That sounds amazing, Marc! Minimal effort for maximum outcome………my type of cake.

    • marcieblogs March 15, 2013 at 6:49 am #

      It was super easy. That book has been gold! Thanks for your comment by the way! xx

      • Mum March 15, 2013 at 6:51 am #

        That was a speedy reply Marcie….you must be haunting the computer!!

  2. mydearbakes March 15, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    I can tell from the pictures that your bakes must be very yummy! =)

    • marcieblogs March 15, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Your cakes are beautiful!

  3. Beverley Fox March 15, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Marcia….we have not met although I do feel I know you …certainly keep up with all your news and doings through Helen and Jim (our friendship started with the Wine Club!!!). Like us all they are so proud their girls. Congratulations on what you are doing, Marcie. I know just how much I enjoyed the entire process of creating Food With a View …. And feel that I have left behind just a little at St M!!!! Warm good wishes….Beverley

    • marcieblogs March 16, 2013 at 6:00 am #

      Hi Beverly,
      Thanks so much for having a look at my blog and commenting! I love the book’s recipes and the photography – it will always be in high use in my kitchen. M

Leave a Reply

