A light meal – stuffed portobellos

28 Jan

Stuffed PortobellosMorgs and I eat vegetarian meals a couple of times a week. They are filling without feeling quite so heavy, and I find the clean up is much easier without having to separate the meaty-stuff from the non-meaty-stuff.  Yes, I have a thing about raw meat…I think it was in a year 7 home ec class that I made a deal with one of my buddies to eat all her tomatoes if she handled my raw chicken. This “thing” has lasted into adult-hood, resulting in Morgs promising to not cut the vegies on the chicken cutting board in his wedding speech. He knows me well!

So anyway, I saw some amazing portobellos at the grocery store the other day. I have never cooked such huge mushrooms before, so googled around a bit to see what can be done with them. I found a fabulous looking recipe on Love and Olive Oil for stuffed mushrooms and gave it a crack…and I didn’t love it. I think the goat’s cheese I used was way too over-bearing. So I tried again this week with ricotta and feta, two cheeses I love. It was a much lighter mix than with the goat’s cheese. I also added some lemon juice and zest to brighten it a little more, and was happy with the result. I share my version of the recipe below.

Ingredients

1/3 cup brown rice

1 tablespoon EVOO

1 small onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

½ packet frozen spinach, defrosted and chopped

1/3 cup sundried toms, chopped,

150g feta cheese, crumbled

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

S&P

4 portobello mushrooms

¼ cup shaved or grated parmesan to top

Sticky balsamic glaze, optional

Method

Cook 1/3 cup brown rice according to packet directions, approx. 35mins. It will triple in volume to yield ~1cup cooked brown rice. Drain and allow to cool a little.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 200*C.

Heat EVOO over medium heat in a fry pan and cook onion and garlic until softened.

Mix sundried toms, feta, lemon juice, lemon zest, rice and spinach, add garlic and onion mixture and combine. Season to taste with S&P.

Cut stem out of mushroom and discard.

Place the mushrooms top-down on a baking paper lined tray.

Divide mixture evenly between 4 mushrooms and top with parmesan.

Bake for 15 mins.

Drizzle over sticky balsamic glaze, if using, and serve with a fresh green salad.

Serves 4

3 Responses to “A light meal – stuffed portobellos”

  1. Jane Warner May 28, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    This looks and sounds lovely Marcie, as a veggie it’s always nice to find new veggie recipes. I had to think for a minute what you meant by EVOO, I can be so dim sometimes! Will definitely be trying this one 🙂

  2. Jane Warner May 28, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Oh…did you put ricotta in it with the feta? Couldn’t see it in the recipe:)

    • marcieblogs May 29, 2013 at 2:49 am #

      Haha, yeah, I’ve stopped using EVOO as an acronym because a few people didn’t know what it was. I thought good old Jamie Oliver made it part of the common vernacular!
      Thanks for pointing out the ricotta error – I remember putting it in at the time, but I can’t remember exactly how much now, months on. I probably used a small tub (250g) because I hate it when there are half tubs of food left in the fridge! And I would have put it in with the feta, sun dried toms etc. Let me know how it goes if you do try it!

Leave a Reply

